History of MAN, Kaduna State Chapter

Home / History

Brief History of MAN (Kaduna State Chapter)

The activities of Mathematical Association of Nigeria (MAN) in Kaduna State cease to function for some years. It was later revived when Members who attended the 2014 annual conference of the Association held in University of Ilorin, Kwara State passed vote of no confidence on the former MAN Executive Council (EXCO) in the State.

The 46 members in attendance were advised by the National Executive to constitute an Ad hoc committee of five members. The five (5) member committee was constituted with Malam Ahmed Tijjani Rabiu as Chairman, Mr. H. U. Leonad, the Vice Chairman, Mr. Simon S. Gajere, the Secretary, Malam Aliyu Muhammad, the Financial Secretary and Mr. Linus Pitto, the PRO.

The national executive directed the Ad hoc committee to conduct election within one month, and Prof. I. Galadima, the Katsina and FCT Abuja Chairmen to be in attendance to observe the conduct of the election for the new EXCO in the state.

A congress meeting was scheduled on the 7th October 2014 during which the congress members agreed that the ad hoc committee should maintain their positions as the state executive members. Another date was fixed within the first week of November, 2014 for the conduct of election into the vacant position of the executive.

On Saturday, 19 January 2019, at Kaduna State University, a free, fair and credible election was conducted by the congress in the state to elect new EXCO that will steer the affairs of the association for the next two years. This election ushered in Dr. M. A. Ibrahim (Formerly known as Dr. A. M. Ibrahim), Department of Mathematics, Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria as the Chairman and Dr. M. K. Dauda of Kaduna State University, Kaduna as Vice Chairman. Other executive members are; G. Danladi (Secretary), U. I. Ohimege (Assistant Secretary), T. G. Dowyaro (Treasurer), J. A. Abubakar (Financial secretary), B. U. Yazah (PRO I), P. Africanus (PRO II), A. A. Idris (Auditor I), J. B. Doyin (Auditor II), A. M. Abdulazeez (Business Manager), A. T. Rabiu (Ex-official I), and S. S. Gajere (Ex-Official II).